The Societas Rosicruciana in Civitatibus Foederatis (Rosicrucian Society of the United States) was formed on September 21, 1880, by three Colleges within the previous ten months by the Society in Scotland. It is entirely autonomous and in no way connected with any other institution.

The Society in the United States is in amity with the only other similar societies in the world – Societas Rosicruciana in Anglia (England), Societas Rosicruciana in Scotia (Scotland), and Societas Rosicruciana in France. The Society in the United States is not in amity with Societas Rosicruciana in Canada.

Membership, which is by invitation, is predicated on being a Master Mason and Christianity. The Society is not merely another degree of Freemasonry which may be acquired and outside of the normal “workings” of the Craft.

The Masonic qualification assures its membership that the neophyte has given proof of the fidelity and privacy which characterizes a member of that Fraternity. The Christian qualification is required because the character of the Grade rituals is completely Christian, and would not be understood or appreciated by those of other faiths. This character is emphasized in the Ceremony of Admission and it will be noted that a certain community outlook and understanding among the members (called Fraters) is necessary.

The governing body of the Society is known as The High Council composed of Fraters of the Third Order (IX° and VIII°), plus any College Celebrant not a member of the Third Order. The head of the Society is titled The Supreme Magus, IX°, elected each triennium. The subordinate bodies are termed “Colleges” each being headed in the United States, by a Chief Adept, IX°, appointed for a three year term by the Supreme Magus. A Chief Adept can serve a maximum of three terms of office. Membership in a college is restricted to 72. New members are required to select a distinctive “Latin Motto” and state that they are not a member of a non-Masonic Rosicrucian organization as a matter of ethics. The Society is not interested primarily in increasing its membership, but considers such brethren whose interest in the Society’s aims is sincere and whom it considers to be in sympathy with the movement.

Colleges have the power to confer the following grades:

First Order: Consisting of Four Grades:
First Grade: Zelator
Second Grade: Theoricus
Third Grade: Practicus
Fourth Grade: Philosophus
These are classified as the Learning Grades.

Second Order: Consisting of Three Grades:
Fifth Grade: Adeptus Minor
Sixth Grade: Adeptus Major
Seventh Grade: Adeptus Exemptus
These are the Teaching Grades.

Third Order: consists of Two Grades conferred by the Supreme Magus:
Eighth Grade: Magister
Ninth Grade: Magus
These are the ruling grades, conferred only by or with permission of the Supreme Magus.

The jewel of the college are as follows:

II degree: a silver bar with the letters S.R.I.C.F. from which is suspended a Burgundy ribbon and Jewel.

IV degree: a silver bar with letters S.R.I.C.F. from which is suspended a Purple ribbon and Jewel.

VII degree: a silver bar with letters S.R.I.C.F. from which is suspended a Green ribbon and Jewel.

VIII degree: a gold bar with letters S.R.I.C.F. from which is suspended a Yellow ribbon and Jewel.

IX degree: a gold bar with letters S.R.I.C.F. from which is suspended a Red ribbon, Crown and Jewel.

The See of Supreme Council in the United States is Washington D.C.

Write the Administrator